Home > NEWS > Content

CUG Professor Wins AAPG J. C. "Cam" Sproule Memorial Award of 2019

Editor:贺冬Date:June 2, 2019

CUG professor, Mr. HAN Yuanjia has been awarded the J.C. warded SprouleMemorial Award for his research paper pOil Retention and Porosity Evolution in Organic-Rich Shales”il Retention and Porosity E at the Annual Convention & Exhibition (ACE), which was hosted by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) in San Antonio, Texas, in May 2019. HAN Yuanjia is an associate professor at School of Earth Resources of CUG, working primarily on hydrocarbon retention and migration processes in shale oil systems. The winning paper aims to decipher the genetic relationship between oil retention and porosity evolution within organic particles, i.e., kerogen, in which oil retention and porosity evolution are demonstrated to being strongly related to changes in kerogen density brought about by kerogen swelling.

J.C. “Cam” Sproule Memorial Award is annually presented by the AAPG Executive Committee since 1970 to recognize and reward the younger authors of papers applicable to petroleum geology.